Home > Health, Random > Waiting

Waiting

I am sitting in a waiting room in Green Bay while my mom is knocked out and having her flesh peeled back and her shoulder operated on somewhere nearby.

This is nothing new. Well, the shoulder surgery is, but not the mom having an operation. As a kid, it seemed like my mom was in the hospital as much as I was in school. She had organs removed and messed with. She had joints operated on. She always had something going on and the doctors back home could never figure out what was wrong so they would start cutting into her.

Dad would wake us up in the middle of the night to tell us that he had to take mom into the hospital once again and that I had to make sure to get my sister off to school. You kind of became numb to it.

This is the first time, however, that I have been alone in waiting for her. We are in Green Bay, and my dad’s back just can’t take this kind of drive. Mom wanted to come here because Doc Tressler was recommended by quite a few people around the Marquette area.

So I am here, pretty much without a lot to do (I need to work, but the only table is occupied by a fellow who is adamantly reading a magazine, so I will wait). I have to admit it’s a little nerve-jarring. It’s not that I am worried about mom’s operation, it’s just that I am concerned if I will be able to do all the things she will need done once she gets out of here.

I am sure I will survive, but it still has me a little on edge.

The surgery should just be about another 20 minutes, and then I have about four more hours before I can drag her back to the hotel.

I just hope it all goes well.

Funny how much easier life was when I was just a kid. And here it was I just couldn’t wait to grow up.

  1. Sank
    May 14, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Hope all turns out well for you and her. Great post BTW.. entertaining account.

  2. Kim
    May 14, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    You’ll do fine. You are great at taking care of me & Shaylyn, and you’ll take good care of your mom too. Love you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

