Home > House > Springiness

Springiness

Composite image to illustrate the diversity of...
Image via Wikipedia

The crocuses and irises are showing their heads, we’ve seen a V of geese heading to the lake, and there are robins and bumblebees hanging out in the front yard. It’s definitely spring. For me, that means my gardening instincts are kicking in big time, and I can far too often be found staring out the window thinking of seeds, dirt and sun.

For the past few years, my attempts at gardening have been horribly fragmented by two consecutive summer moves. The first time, I didn’t even bother to plant cause I knew I’d be moving, and the second time, I put a good effort in April through August, only to move abruptly mid-August, leaving behind many plants, and utterly failing to keep alive the ones I tried to transplant to our current apartment’s yard in pots. Sigh.

This year, I’m back to the idea that I won’t even plant anything because we’ll be moving into our first owned home throughout May & June, which is pretty much all of planting season. It might be possible, but I don’t need that task on top of moving. If anything, I might get to plant some crops later in July with short harvest times, like beets, carrots, lettuces, cabbages, and potatoes. At least that way we’ll have a few fall salads and plenty of hearty things to dig up and store for the winter.

Even though I know it would be a waste of time and money to start seeds now, since I am the worst transplanter ever, I can’t help wanting to go dig a plot, get my jeans black with mud, and carefully sow and label rows of seeds. I said before that it was an instinct, and that’s exactly what it feels like: like it’s the right thing to do and it needs to be done NOW! It doesn’t help that a ton of my freelancing is on gardening topics, and I’m always reading gardening news, blogs and resources.

Still, I can contain myself for now, especially knowing that this move will be the last for awhile, and I’ll be free to tear up my backyard any way I please, and experiment with any plants I like, and get as dirty as I can stand doing it. That’s what gardening is all about for me: enjoying the growth and life,  and the meeting of soil, sun, water and plants making their particular brand of magic to turn all three into tasty food and lovely flowers. So, Happy Spring, everyone, and happy gardening!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Kurt
    April 21, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    crocuses nothing, the tulips are blooming! kinda freaky. and yet today it was snowing. Life in the yoop.

  2. Kurt
    April 21, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    oh, and what about container gardening? you can put your tomatos and whatnot in them and move them easy enough. flowers should be fine too. not quite the same of course but it’s something.

  3. Kim
    April 21, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    I know! I was just thinking about my bad post timing. All the spring things went back to hiding from the freakin snow. As for container gardening, I suck at it frankly. I don’t know why, but plants in pots always die on me, even when I follow all the rules. People say it’s easier but I must just be a one-trick pony, I’ve gotta put them in the ground to make them grow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

