Home > Games, Random > A dear friend heads toward the red rings at the end of the tunnel

A dear friend heads toward the red rings at the end of the tunnel

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder...

It finally happened. I’m not happy about it, I’m not mad about it and there was nothing I could do about it. The Red Rings of Death appeared on my Xbox 360 last night.

We were watching Netflix and the screen froze. Annoying, yes, but easily fixed with a reset. We start it up, get Netflix rolling and the screen freezes. At this point, I figure it’s got to be Netflix.

Wrong.

A second reset equaled the RROD. A third did, too.

My Xbox was manufactured in June 2007. It has been a loyal companion of mine, sporting a 120-gig hard drive and all the bells and whistles, since then. It has traveled the country with me, taking my first flight with me and hanging out in hotels with me. It was even there that night in Texas… never mind.

I bought my Xbox new the day I got my relocation check from a company that hired me in the Lower Peninsula. It was a $1,000 check and my relocation costs were equal to that of filling up the fuel tank in my car twice. I know, can’t complain, right?

I was proud that my Xbox had lasted. While friends went down in a blaze of red rings, my 360 and I stood strong against the heat of Louisiana, the crappy weather of Pennsylvania and even the murderous thugs of Youngstown, Ohio. We wouldn’t let anything stop us.

And then it happened. Perhaps it was because the show we were watching, “Rescue Me,” is about firefighters. Or, perhaps, it was just tired. It gets more use each week than my computer, which I work on every day. Not even kidding.

To show how much my Xbox loved me, it died with just enough time left on Microsoft’s three-year RROD warranty to let it be covered at no cost. It’ll take about a month (three business weeks, at least) and I had a heart-to-heart with my baby and it agreed that I should be able to get a replacement unit. Until, at least, it comes back, upon which time it will take the reins once again and the back-up unit will become just that.

For three weeks my Xbox will be in the emergency room, but it will be for the best. When it comes back, it will be as good as new and ready to hang out with me for even more memories… like our intended purchase of Project Natal this Christmas. I may even consider an Xbox Slim, but it’s extremely, super, highly doubtful. Instead, I’ll just grab the 250GB HDD that is expected to be released with it.

Upon its return we’ll likely celebrate with gaming and… um… more gaming. But, hey, what a better way to welcome my favorite console back into my home?

  1. Scott
    April 14, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    may i suggest this:
    http://www.pcworld.idg.com.au/slideshow/330509/xbox_360_died_send_it_off_style_rrod_coffin_accessory_/

    i had an xbox red ring.. died.. no repair.. saved money bought new one.. then the heavens opened up…. and PS3 came down from on high… and rests next to my flat screen… LONG LIVE SONY !!

    • seggleston
      April 14, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      I actually have a PS3 as well, and a Wii, but I just love my Xbox 360. It has always been at my side, through Fallouts, Dragon Ages, Fables, Halo conflicts and even when I just need to relax and watch some movies.

      My PS3 is irreplaceable, though. I absolutely love it.

  2. December 25, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Hey man,

    Idk how old this post is or anything, but if your still having problems check this out.

    http://www.theredringsofdeath.com/xbox-rings-of-death-under-warranty/

    Helped me out a bunch, hope it helps you!

    Phil

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

