Home > In the News, Random > Marquette is getting, well, social!

Marquette is getting, well, social!

The banner for the new Marquette Social site.

Call it Facebook with a little local flair. Or Myspace with a little more of my space involved.

Marquette Social is a new addition to the World Wide Web (people still call it that, right?) and has already started to take off. Within the first 10 days, it already had more than 135 users and over 750 photographs uploaded. Now there are 195 (shooting for 200 before they are interviewed by the always, um, printed on paper Mining Journal this afternoon). One of those people is the popular and charismatic Charles Rice. Another is the award-winning sports writer, Kurt Mensching.

There are several nice things about Marquette Social. First of all, it allows for a focus on the local area and people. Secondly, I’m not being asked to play 450 different games that my various people on my friends network are asking me to play. Instead, it’s calm, it’s solid and it’s simple. The CSS of online life.

“Marquette has been a special part of many technological firsts: high-speed internet, a laptop-connected university community,” said Marquette Social founder Jason E. White in a prepared statement. “We have finally reached the comprehension and integration phase which allows us to come up to speed with the rest of the country (and Internet) in terms of actually ‘networking’.”

Like Myspace (or what I remember of it, at least), users can have music on their site and show photos and even have an RSS feed to their favorite blog or news site (ahem… feel free to use this one if you don’t have one already).

In addition, local businesses are jumping onboard, too, and putting up events and specials on their profiles.

So far, the only thing I don’t like about the site is the glaring gleam of green and gold. Yeah, I know it’s NMU colors and I am an alum of the good ol’ university. But it’s just… well, it’s a lot of green and gold.

Some of the highlights of the site, according to a press release issued by Marquette Social, include: Music by local artists; blog, chat and group features; ability to stream video via cell phone; Twitter and Facebook integration; and a hands-on administrator (unlike you, Tom!).

So swing on over and check it out. Hey, it’s got to be better than Facebook and I guarantee it’s better than Myspace (I’d rather cut off my leg with a dull spoon than use that site).

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Kurt
    April 6, 2010 at 11:07 am

    You know, white goes much better with green!

    Place looks cool so far. I’ll put a few more photos up.

    • Kim
      April 6, 2010 at 11:32 am

      I know, everyone has such cool photos on that site… I feel peer pressure to go take gorgeous pics of the U.P.!

  2. April 6, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Thank you so much for the great article and feedback! I totally agree with you on the green and gold, which I do not even notice until after I put the logo up. 🙂 Anyways, I am working on a completely new theme that will be a lot more fun and successful I think.

    We, the founders of Marquette Social promise to keep it local! 🙂

    (Oh, and I’m glad you’re so fond of my little prodigy Charles, he’s all grown up with a real job now!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

