Home > Health, In the News > The Good, the Bad, and the Bacon

The Good, the Bad, and the Bacon

KFC Corporation
Image via Wikipedia

Although I’m on a diet, the food I still love above most others is tasty, delicious bacon. I subscribe to the philosophy that anything flavored like, resembling, or including bacon is worthy of consumption. (I was very disappointed to find out this was simply an April Fool’s joke from ThinkGeek, usually an excellent source for bacon-related products, including my precious Baconnaise.)

But even for bacon lovers, the newest announcement in fast food entrees could be considered alarming. The Double Down, a new sandwich (well, sort of, but I’ll get to that) from KFC was announced on April 1, although it is not a joke, and will be premiering at U.S KFC restaurants on April 12. The Consumerist has a revealing photo and post on it here, but the gist of the “sandwich” is that instead of bread, the outer layers are two flattish pieces of fried chicken. The filling is several strips of bacon, and a couple kinds of cheese. No lettuce, no tomato, no bread. Just meat, cheese and more meat.

Now, is this really what we trending-toward-obese Americans need added to our panoply of fast-food choices? Probably not. But I know meat-lovers, teenage boys and those who will eat anything with a hint of weird are going to gobble this new offering up with enthusiasm. You can, as a matter of fact, get the meatwich in a grilled chicken form, rather than fried, but how much good does that really do?

In contrast, we’ve lately been lunching on a decidedly healthier fast-food option from Jimmy John’s sub shop; the Unwich. I get my lovely, lovely bacon wrapped up with tomato and mayo in a sheaf of lettuce rather than bread, and am able to limit my calories along with eating some vegetables. Let’s see KFC offer a low-calorie bacon-chicken concoction, and I’ll be there instead. But with the appearance of mega-unhealthy sandwiches like Wendy’s Baconator (yeah, yeah, I’ve eaten them and I’m not proud of it), larger burgers from McDonald’s and Burger King, and of course that Double Down monstrosity, I’m thinking the appetite of the American public is not on my side.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
  1. seggleston
    April 5, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    I want to go to there.

    Did you just eat that whole steak?!?!

    No! A dog came in and grabbed it. You didn’t see him.

  2. April 5, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    I am guilty when it comes to the Baconator. I don’t go to Wendy’s often but can’t resist it. I feel guilty as hell after the last bite though. That said, I find it less disgusting than the new KFC thing. Last time I had KFC was a year ago and I got so sick, to the point that I doubt I will ever have some again.

    Life ain’t easy when you like eating and trying to lose weight, I know all about it 😦

  3. Kim
    April 5, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    LOLOL @ Sam, 30 Rock reference! Aww Liz Lemon is the best. “A dog! Just came right in and grabbed it.” hehehehe

    @thisblog, the Baconator is wonderful! It does come with some guilt though. I rarely eat KFC either, my sister worked there the summer after high school and told me bad stories, 😛

  4. April 5, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    You’ll have to tell me about the bad stories to make sure I never eat there again 😛

    • Kim
      April 6, 2010 at 11:31 am

      remind me in private! I don’t wanna libel KFC on the blog, lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

